Matusek Wins 1st MX Championship of 2014, Cafro Wins SCORE San Felipe 250

04 March 2014

Maxxis riders took an aggressive path to the podium over the weekend, with Andrew Matusek winning the first MX Championship of the year and Mike Cafro’s team taking the victory in SCORE’s San Felipe 250. A first-ever Pro win for Eric Yorba in the Big 6 series and a decisive victory for Zach Ames in the AMSOIL Arenacross Race to the Championship were among other highlights of the weekend. 

Matusek rode Maxxis to victory in both motos at the AMA Spring Classic, held February 27 - March 2 in Pell City, Alabama. He trusted the Maxxcross SI in the first moto and counted on the MX IT in the second, earning a win in the 25+ class.

Cafro and fellow riders Javier Robles, Jr., Jorie Williams and Felipe Velez took first place in Pro ATV at the SCORE San Felipe 250, held February 27 – March 2 in San Felipe, Baja California, Mexico. Led by Adolfo Arellano, the second place team also crossed the finish line on Maxxis tires.   

RPM Racing’s Yorba topped the podium in the WCGP Pro class at Round 2 of the Big 6 Grand Prix Series. Yorba led the field for the entire nine-lap race, held March 1-2 at Glen Helen Raceway in Devore, California. Maxxis riders also dominated the podium in the Women Expert class, with Tatum Sik taking the victory and Rily Ellinger in third place. 

In the first event of Arenacross’ Race to the Championship, the final four rounds which decide the series’ title, Zach Ames took over the points lead with wins in both main races. Ames’ Babbitt's Monster Energy/AMSOIL Kawasaki presented by Maxxis teammate Colt Nichols took fourth place in the first main. The team swept the podium in the second main, with Nichols in second place and Tyler Bowers in third. Nichols was second for the weekend, with Bowers in sixth place overall. Ames leads the Race to the Championship by a seven-point margin, with Nichols third and Bowers fifth. The round was held March 1-2 in Tulsa, Oklahoma.

The National Enduro Series kicked off on a high note for Maxxis with Dirtwise’ Jesse Groemm taking second place overall and KR4’s Shane Hufford in eighth place overall. Dirtwise owner Shane Watts won the A40+ class and took 12th place overall. In the Women A/B class, Mandi Mastin took the win, with RPM Racing’s Rachel Gutish in third place. Michael Grizzle won the A45+ class. The race was held March 2 in Pelion, South Carolina.

Chris Bithell took a victory in the Florida Trail Riders race, while Wienen Motorsports’ Thomas Brown won the Pro Am class Round 1 of the TQRA series in Fort Worth, Texas. Brown took another trip the TQRA podium when he took second place in the Open Expert class.  

Maxxis congratulates Andrew Matusek, Mike Cafro, Eric Yorba and Tatum Sik, Zach Ames, Mandi Mastin and Michael Grizzle, and Chris Bithell and Thomas Brown on their victories, and thanks all of its riders for their fine performances. 

Dealer Locator

Tire finder

Choose a category and then the size you require to find your perfect Maxxis tire

Choose how you want to get in touch.
Get started now!
General Enquiries
Have an enquiry? Get in touch with us using the form below!
Contact Us
Become a Maxxis Dealer
Become a Maxxis Dealer
Sponsorship - Bicycle, Moto, and ATV/SxS
Sponsorship window closes November 1st!
Get Sponsored
Sponsorship - Automotive
Please submit your material so we can get to know you a bit better!
Automotive Sponsorship

©2018 Maxxis International–USA. All Rights Reserved.