Richie Rude taking a corner fast at the EWS

EWS Zermatt: Nicolai, Tordo, Nadeau, Thoma in Top 5 for Series; Rude, Nadeau on Race Podium

After a heart-stopping final round, Maxxis’ sponsored riders were all over the Enduro World Series’ top rankings for 2019. Florian Nicolai (Canyon Factory Racing) just missed the Pro Men’s title with a very close second place for the year and fifth place in the day’s race, and Andreane Lanthier Nadeau (Rocky Mountain/Race Face Enduro Team) was third for Pro Women for 2019 as well as second for the day. Richie Rude (Yeti Cycles/Fox Shox Factory Team) won the series’ first-ever award for most Pro Men’s stage victories, sixth place overall, and third place for the day. The eighth and final round of 2019 was held September 21 in Zermatt, Switzerland.

 Florian Nicolai high up on the stage. Nicolai on his way to second place in the Men’s Pro division. ?@maddogboris

Andreane Lanthier Nadeau looking composed as she negotiates the alpine terrain. Nadeau races down the rocky Swiss terrain with the Matterhorn resting in the background. ?@maddogboris

Richie Rude keeps all the momentum he can througha tight switchback. Rude negotiates a chunky corner up high on course on his way to third. ?@maddogboris

Dimitri Tordo (Canyon Factory Racing) was fourth for the year and tenth in the race at Zermatt. Remi Gauvin (Rocky Mountain/Race Face Enduro Team) earned seventh place overall. Matt Walker (Pivot Factory Racing) took eighth place both overall and at the Zermatt race. Eddie Masters (Pivot Factory Racing) finished an impressive ninth for the year, overcoming a broken wrist which forced him to miss all of Round 7. Jesse Melamed (Rocky Mountain/Race Face Enduro Team) was 11th overall and seventh for the day. Shawn Neer (Yeti/Fox Shox) earned 11th place at Zermatt.

 Remi Gauvin looks through the corner with no trees to inhibit his vision. Gauvin managed a top-twenty finish in Zermatt, which put him in seventh overall for the Pro Men’s championship. ?@maddogboris

In Pro Women, Ines Thoma (Canyon Factory Racing) was fifth overall and fourth for the day. Rae Morrison (BBCL NZ Arapi Enduro Team) took eighth place for the year and sixth at Zermatt. Miranda Miller (Kona Factory Team) made the women’s overall top ten in ninth place and took 13th place in the race. Bex Baraona (Ibis Cycles Enduro Race Team) rounded out the Pro Women’s overall top ten and took 12th place for the day.

Ines Thoma races through the lower sections of the stage. Thoma looking relentless. She was determined to break into the top five in Pro Women. ?@maddogboris

Rae Morrison looking on form riding through one of the more open and exposed sections. Morrison kept it all together and broke into the top ten, a great result for the final series race of the year. ?@maddogboris

 Andreane Lanthier Nadeau prepares to spray champagne standing atop her third place podium Championship spot. Nadeau rocking the championship bronze medal, and proud of it.?@maddogboris

Florian Nicolai celebrates his second plcae Championship spot on the podium. Nicolai with the championship silver around his neck. ?@maddogboris

Maxxis congratulates all of these riders for a season of thrilling competition and excellent performances.